A* implementation for XNA

For a while now, I have played around with the XNA framework to get a grasp at how to develop games for the XBOX 360. It is great fun, but quite different from the development I usually do.

I now have a working game stub with an object model that grows and grows and that feels really good. I can generate missions from an image/text file tuple, where the image describes the game board of the mission and the text file describes the mission, items on the board, goals etc.

This setup makes it really easy to quickly develop a large amount of missions that can be divided into multiple campaigns. By making the base model solid, new missions will be content management than programming.

When my game imports the various game board maps, it generates a grid of walkable and unwalkable tiles, of which the game board consists. The next step is now to be able to find the shortest way from one tile to another.

I found this great tutorial and will use it to implement the A* algorithm, which hopefully will take care of this for me:

http://dotnetperls.com/pathfinding

