A board game with tiles in XNA

During my experimenting with the XNA framework, I am currently developing a board game where the game board is made up of a grid of square shaped tiles, over which player and monster pieces can move horizontally and vertically.

Board movement example

Game pieces can move horizontally and vertically

So far, the board/tile model have presented these three main problem areas:

  • What is the best way to parse a bitmap into a game board, to make it easy to create dynamic mission maps?
  • Given a set of walkable and non-walkable tiles, how do I find the shortest path from tile A to tile B?
  • How can I determine if tile A is visible from tile B?

I have successfully solved the first two problems, of which the first is presented in the next post.

