A quick NuPack walkthrough

Yesterday, I got myself a demonstration of NuPack – a free, open source developer focused package management system for the .NET platform. It looked awesome, so I qickly visited the web site, downloaded NuPack and installed it.

This is how you do it. Brace yourself…it requires that you are 100% focused…ok?

  • Visit the NuPack web site.
  • Click the download button
  • Wait for the file to download (important!)
  • Double click on the downloaded file
  • Open any .NET solution of yours…or create a new one
  • Right-click references – voilá…a new “Add Package Reference” exists!

I hope that you can understand the irony – this is really a walk in the park. This is what you’ll see:

The Add Package Reference context menu item

The Add Package Reference context menu item

 

When you click “Add Package Reference”, a new window opens, where you can search for packages:

The Add Package Reference Window

The Add Package Reference Window

 

In the image above, I have searched for log4net, which is a nice log tool for .NET. If I click the “Install” button, the package is downloaded and added to the project:

The reference is added to References

The reference is added to References

…and if we look in the solution folder structure, it has created a new “packages” folder, which contains the downloaded package:

A "packages" folder is added

A “packages” folder is added

Well, that’s it! If you need to use log4net in another project in the solution, just add a reference to the downloaded package. Simple, huh?

A liiiiiitle note is that I noticed that the added reference points to the GAC:

Strange behavior - the GAC is used as reference

Strange behavior – the GAC is used as reference

 

I do not know about you, but I’d rather refer to the physical .dll file. But hey, NuPack has downloaded it for me, so I can just remove the reference and re-add it and everything is sunshine and dancing clouds!

Conclusion? Well…NuPack has rocked my world!

